Originating from a deep passion and an enthusiastic spirit for the game of rugby, the Arlington Stallions Rugby Club was born in 2004. The following is a partial timeline including the names of instrumental athletes that helped shape the Arlington Stallions Rugby Club from it’s beginnings through where it stands today.


Dan Bartlett (Hersey HS): 5 years Rugby Illinois U14 Select Side Head Coach

Harry Bergman (Hersey): 3 years Chicago Lions RC

Zach Niro (St. Viator): University of Colorado; team captain

Nick Breitzman (Fremd): University of Iowa; team captain and club president

Kevin Lydon (Conant): Davenport Univ., Chicago Lions, Stallions 7's Coach (4 state championships)

Spencer Krueger (Hersey): Ohio State Univ.; club president and team captain, 2018 Collegiate All-American

Cody Foss (Conant): Purdue Univ.; team captain

Joe Biagi (Buffalo Grove): University of Wisc/Platteville; team co-captain

John Maevski (Conant): Loras College; club founder and president; Northwest Woodsmen RC

Zack Lingen (Hersey): Davenport University

Jon Toriumi (Buffalo Grove): Univ. Illinois

Jack Carso (Hersey): St. Mary's (CA), 2017 USA Rugby Collegiate National Champions

Joe Fasolo (Hersey): Louisville Univ. Rookie of the Year

Matt Moroniak (Hersey): Illinois State University

Zack Kaminski (Prospect): Univ. Charleston; team captain

Josh Bojes (Conant):  Western Illinois University

Kevin McNulty (St. Viator): Washington Univ. (St. Louis); club president

Tony Lapiana (Fremd): DePaul Univ.

Matt Rivard (Buffalo Grove): Univ. Wisconsin

Bobby Habel (Conant): Loras College; club founder

Dave Woloch (Prospect): Univ. Illinois/Chhicago

Andrew Collins (Hersey): Univ. Dayton; current Stallions HS coach

James Trout (Lake Park): Northern Illinois Univ.; Team Captain and Club President

Ben Hirschmann (Stevenson): University of Colorado

Jack Tuttle (Prospect): University of Colorado

Max Derry (Wheeling): University of Colorado

Willis Goodwin (Rolling Meadows): John Carroll University

Bobby Barratta (Hersey): University of Maryland



U14 State Championship Runner-Up

High School Seven-a-Side State Champions



High School 15's Third in State Championship

High School Seven-a-Side State Champions



“Fall Ball” rugby for high school players is initiated by the Stallions, Elgin, Naperville and the South Side Irish Academy. The Stallions announce that they will move into Tier 1 of Illinois rugby competition for the Spring, 2012 season.
The middle school side finishes in 2nd place in the state championship tournament and the high school side finishes 3rd, defeating St. Rita 37-5.
Junior Kevin Lydon is invited to attend the winter try-outs for the USA Rugby High School All-American squad.
The Stallions play their first high school frosh/soph games and take their first road trip to Culver Military Academy in Culver, IN.
In the first year of multiple middle school clubs in Illinois, the Stallions field 2 sides and win the inaugural middle school state championship on Memorial Day. Multiple high school players, including junior Brian Pateras and freshmen Kevin Lydon, John Maevski and Andrew Collins earn the first of many Stallions spots on the Illinois Tornados rugby team.
Coached by founding players Dan Bartlett, Harry Bergman and Dan Lewis, the Arlington Stallions Middle School side plays its first game against St. Charles. This team’s first season consists of three games against St. Charles. Members of that team include Kevin Lydon, John Maevski, Josh Cunningham, Andrew Collins and Ray Banak, all of whom would go on to play Stallions rugby all four years of their high school careers.