Originating from a deep passion and an enthusiastic spirit for the game of rugby, the Arlington Stallions Rugby Club was born in 2004. The following is a partial timeline including the names of instrumental athletes that helped shape the Arlington Stallions Rugby Club from it’s beginnings through where it stands today.


Dan Bartlett (Hersey HS): 5 years Rugby Illinois U14 Select Side Head Coach

Harry Bergman (Hersey): 3 years Chicago Lions RC

Zach Niro (St. Viator): University of Colorado; team captain

Nick Breitzman (Fremd): University of Iowa; team captain and club president

Kevin Lydon (Conant): Davenport Univ., Chicago Lions, Stallions 7's Coach (4 state championships)

Spencer Krueger (Hersey): Ohio State Univ.; club president and team captain, 2018 Collegiate All-American

Cody Foss (Conant): Purdue Univ.; team captain

Joe Biagi (Buffalo Grove): University of Wisc/Platteville; team co-captain

John Maevski (Conant): Loras College; club founder and president; Northwest Woodsmen RC

Zack Lingen (Hersey): Davenport University

Jon Toriumi (Buffalo Grove): Univ. Illinois

Jack Carso (Hersey): St. Mary's (CA), 2017 USA Rugby Collegiate National Champions

Joe Fasolo (Hersey): Louisville Univ. Rookie of the Year

Matt Moroniak (Hersey): Illinois State University

Zack Kaminski (Prospect): Univ. Charleston; team captain

Josh Bojes (Conant):  Western Illinois University

Kevin McNulty (St. Viator): Washington Univ. (St. Louis); club president

Tony Lapiana (Fremd): DePaul Univ.

Matt Rivard (Buffalo Grove): Univ. Wisconsin

Bobby Habel (Conant): Loras College; club founder

Dave Woloch (Prospect): Univ. Illinois/Chhicago

Andrew Collins (Hersey): Univ. Dayton; current Stallions HS coach

James Trout (Lake Park): Northern Illinois Univ.; Team Captain and Club President

Ben Hirschmann (Stevenson): University of Colorado

Jack Tuttle (Prospect): University of Colorado

Max Derry (Wheeling): University of Colorado

Willis Goodwin (Rolling Meadows): John Carroll University

Bobby Barratta (Hersey): University of Maryland



U14 State Championship Runner-Up

High School Seven-a-Side State Champions



High School 15's Third in State Championship

High School Seven-a-Side State Champions



The coaching staff and two returning players decide to rename the club the Arlington Stallions Rugby Club.
The HHRC takes 2nd place in Tier II of the Illinois State Championship tournament. Three players, Dan Bartlett, Nick Kruzel and Harry Bergman, make the Illinois All-State team, the Tornados, and play in the Midwest All-Star Championship in Elkhart, IN.
The Hersey Huskie Rugby Club, made up of two seniors and 15 sophomores, played their first game against the St. Charles Rugby Club.
Illinois High School District 214 Hersey High School Sophomores, Dan Bartlett, Harry Bergman and Greg Pateras talk about starting a high school rugby club. Next, they added Steve Barr to the team and convinced their dads into organizing and coaching the first high school area rugby team.